Name of Board/Commission Recreation and Parks Commission Date: 4/30/2019
Authority for Creation The Recreation and Parks Commission was created by Section 2-59 of the City Code and adopted by the City Council on February 1, 1971.
Purpose/Function The purpose of the Commission is to serve in an advisory capacity in the operation and management of the parks and recreational facilities of the City of Winston-Salem.
Method of Appointment The members are appointed by the City Council upon the recommendation of the Mayor.
Number of Members Eleven 
Terms of Office Three years
Meeting Date and Time First Tuesday of each month - 12:15 p.m.
Chief Staff Person
William Royston        
Recreation and Parks Director
Telephone Number
Current Membership - Recreation and Parks Commission
Name Race/Gender Term Expiration
City Council Appointments
Kenneth D. Kimber, Sr., Chairman
BM 2 05/20
Tadhg O'Gara, Vice Chairman
WM 1 05/20
Antonio Caldwell
BM 2 05/19
Sean Hawkins BM 1 05/20
John Gunckel WM 1 05/20
Kathy Gondring
WF 1 05/20
George Peterson WM 0 05/21
Sonya Wagstaff
BF 0 05/21
Cherie Ingram
BF 0 05/21
Emer James C. Masicampo


Special Notes:

1* = Serving more than 50% of an unexpired term (more than one year & seven months of the term has been served).

0* = Serving less than 50% of an unexpired term (less than one year & six months of the term has been served).


Notify me of page changes

Receive E-Mail Notification When New Information is Posted on this Page
As a member, enjoy the benefits of MyCityofWS, including your choice of newsletters, and notifications about events and site updates. Login and Manage Your Subscriptions Now.