Name of Board/Commission Winston-Salem Police Officers Retirement Commission Date 6/3/2019
Authority for Creation The authority for establishing this Commission is Article III of Chapter 128 of the General Statutes of North Carolina, as amended to apply to the City. The Commission was created by Section 15-33 of the City Code.
Purpose/Function The Commission has the responsibility to see that the plan is administered in accordance with its terms and in conformity with the state plan to the extent practicable. This includes duty to approve all requests for retirement from its membership. Establish rules and regulations for administration of the plan, develop a Fiscal Year Annual Report for City Council indicating financial condition of the plan, keep members of the plan advised of amendments and changes.
Method of Appointment Three members are appointed by the City Council upon the recommendation of the Mayor. These members are as follows: one representative from the Finance Committee; one representative who is retired under the plan; and one representative who is a citizen of the city, but not officially connected with the governing body of any municipality or entitled to participate in the plan. For specific information on non-appointees, see Section 15-33.
Number of Members Four voting members; two alternates; two non-voting members
Terms of Office See Special Notes
Meeting Date and Time Third Wednesday of February, May, August, November - 9:00 a.m.
Chief Staff Person
Lisa Saunders
Chief Financial Officer
Telephone Number
Current Membership - Winston-Salem Police Officers Retirement Commission
Name Race/Gender Term Expiration
City Council Appointments  
Robert C. Clark
City Council Finance Committee Representative
Captain Michael J. Cardwell, Alternate Member      
Napoleon Richardson, Jr. BM 2-2 05/19
Elected by Membership of the Plan    
Lieutenant Thomas E. Craven, Member      
Lieutenant David L. Rose, Member      
Jay Edwards, Member, Vice Chairman WM 1-4 05/20
Vince A. Rega, Alternate WM 1-4 05/20
Administrator to Commission – Non - voting    
Lisa Saunders WF N/A N/A
Ex-Officio Member – Non-voting      
Carmen Caruth BF N/A N/A
Boomershire Consulting, Inc.      
US Bank       

Special Notes:

The terms of office for members appointed by the City Council are as follows:

  • The representative from the membership of the Finance Committee serves at the pleasure of the City Council.
  • The representative who is retired from the plan serves for a three-year term.
  • The citizen representative serves for a two-year term.
  • Two representatives and two alternates representatives elected by the members of the plan from their number serve four-year terms, and a citizen representative services two-year term as chairperson.

1* = Serving more than 50% of an unexpired term (more than one year & seven months of the term has been served).

0* = Serving less than 50% of an unexpired term (less than one year & six months of the term has been served).


Notify me of page changes

Receive E-Mail Notification When New Information is Posted on this Page
As a member, enjoy the benefits of MyCityofWS, including your choice of newsletters, and notifications about events and site updates. Login and Manage Your Subscriptions Now.