Name of Board/Commission Creative Corridors Design Review Committee Date 07/12/2017
Authority for Creation An ordinance was adopted by the City Council on February 20, 2012, that Section 2, Division 11 of the City Code is amended to add the following sections thereto.
Purpose/Function The purpose of the Creative Corridors Design Review Committee is to review plans and proposals which are proposed by the City, NCDOT, or any other agency or organization for roadway improvements on the major thoroughfares in the Creative Corridors Study area and to make recommendations to the City Council, Transportation Advisory Committee, or NCDOT on the plan's consistency with the objectives of the Community Corridors master plan and design guidelines.
Method of Appointment Eleven members are appointed by the City Council upon the recommendation of the Mayor. Members shall be residents of the City of Winston-Salem but cannot be employees of the City of Winston-Salem. The Mayor will seek candidates with background or experience in architecture or landscaping architecture, civil or structural engineering, artistic design, transportation and service with the Creative Corridors Coalition Group. Recommended Committee candidates are not required to have the previously stated background/experience history and no more than one person from each of the five areas should be represented on the Committee.
Number of Members Eleven
Terms of Office Four-year staggered terms with five of the initial 11 members being named to two year terms and the remaining six being named to four year terms.
Meeting Date and Time 2nd Wednesday - 12:00 noon
Chief Staff Person
Meredith Martin
Assistant to the City Manager
Telephone Number
Current Membership - Creative Corridors Design Review Committee
Name Race/Gender Term Expiration
City Council Appointments
Katherine Baker WF 1 07/16
Dianne Caesar BF 2 07/18
William A. Davis, II WM 2 07/18
David Finn WM 1 07/18
Steve Hairston BM 0 07/18
Hana Carson, Chair BF 1 07/20
William M. Marion WM 1 07/16
James Hoots, Co-Chair WM 1 09/20
Gregory Errett WM 0 07/22
Jimmy L. Norwood, Jr. BM 1 07/16
James (Jim) Wesley Shaw, Sr., Co-Chair BM 1 07/16

Special Notes:

1* = Serving more than 50% of an unexpired term (more than one year & seven months of the term has expired).

0* = Serving less than 50% of an unexpired term (less than one year & six months of the term has expired).


Notify me of page changes

Receive E-Mail Notification When New Information is Posted on this Page
As a member, enjoy the benefits of MyCityofWS, including your choice of newsletters, and notifications about events and site updates. Login and Manage Your Subscriptions Now.