Name of Board/Commission Commission on Ending Homelessness
Winston-Salem/Forsyth County
Date 08/29/2017
Authority for Creation The Commission was established by a resolution adopted by the Winston-Salem City Council on August 18, 2014, and by the Forsyth County Commissioners on September 8, 2014. The Commission was formed by amending the ordinance creating the Ten Year Plan Commission on Homelessness, which was established by a resolution adopted by the Winston-Salem City Council on May 15, 2006, and by the Forsyth County Commissioners on August 14, 2006.
Purpose/Function The purpose of the Commission is to act as a governing body for collaborative planning and implementation of strategic initiatives and investments to end homelessness in Winston-Salem and Forsyth County.
Method of Appointment The Commission is comprised of sixteen voting commissioners. Five commissioners are appointed by the City Council, upon the recommendation of the Mayor. Five commissioners are appointed by the County Commissioners. Five commissioners shall be nominated by the Operating Cabinet of the Continuum of Care and shall be recommended for appointment by the City. The Mayor and the Chairperson of the County Commissioners shall appoint the chairperson of the Commission.

In addition to the sixteen aforementioned appointed Commissioners, one elected City official and one elected County official shall be appointed as ex officio, non-voting members of the Commission.
Number of Members Sixteen
Terms of Office Commissioners shall serve for three-year terms and are limited to two consecutive terms. The Commission initially will be comprised of members of the Ten Year Plan Commission on Homelessness. The remaining Commission seats shall be filled as described herein and those Commissioners shall serve three-year terms.
Meeting Date and Time Monthly TBA
Chief Staff Person
Andrea Kurtz
Title Telephone Number
Implementation Director 336-721-9373
Resource Support Staff
City: Tim West
County: Dan Kornelis
Title Telephone Number
Planning/Dev. Coordinator 336-734-1305
Housing Director 336-703-2680
Current Membership – Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Commission on Ending Homelessness
Name Race/Sex Term Expiration
City Council Appointments
Gary Gunderson (Baptist) WM 1 11/17
Jim Goodwin, Chair (BB&T) WM 2 06/20
Max Goelling, Operating Cabinet Chair WM 2 01/18
Alan K. Hodges (Hanes Brand) WM 2 11/17*
Vivian V. Joiner (Sweet Potatoes Restaurant) BF 1 01/18
Paula Stephen (Landlord) WF 2 11/17*
 *Term expiration corrected
Forsyth County Appointments
Daniel B. Anthony (Attorney) WM 1 01/18
Henry "Hank" Marsh (Daymark Recovery) WM 1 01/18
Jan D. Morgan (WSFCS) WF 1 01/18
Chad C. Nance (Camel City Dispatch) WM 2 01/18*
John Thacker BM 1 01/19
Operating Cabinet Appointments
Joetta Shepherd (Family Services) BF N/A 1/18
Ron Hairston (Consultant) BM N/A 1/18
Lisa Hinson (CenterPoint) WF N/A 1/18
Wanda Brendle-Moss (Homeless Caucus) WF N/A 1/18
Ex-Officio, Non-Voting Members      
Molly Leight, City Council Member WF N/A N/A
Everette Witherspoon, Forsyth County Commissioner BM N/A N/A

Special Notes:

1* = Serving more than 50% of an unexpired term (more than one year & seven
months of term has been served).

0* = Serving less than 50% of an unexpired term (less than one year & six months of
the term as been served).


Notify me of page changes

Receive E-Mail Notification When New Information is Posted on this Page
As a member, enjoy the benefits of MyCityofWS, including your choice of newsletters, and notifications about events and site updates. Login and Manage Your Subscriptions Now.