Name of Board/Commission Coalition for Drug Abuse Prevention
(formerly Coalition on Alcohol & Drug Problems)
Date 10/01/10
Authority for Creation The City Council by resolution recognized the Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Coalition on Alcohol and Drug Problems as the primary advisory resource to the Board on matters relating to substance abuse on May 21, 1990.
Purpose/Function The City of Winston-Salem considers the Coalition to be the primary advisory resource on matters related to substance abuse. The Coalition's mission is to reduce alcohol and other drug problems through a coordinated and committed community prevention efforts.
Method of Appointment The City Council, upon recommendation of the Mayor and the Forsyth County Commissioners shall each appoint nine members (five neighborhood representatives, two religious leaders, and two business leaders); in addition, there are organizational appointments; and membership by capacity appointments.
Number of Members 57 (currently), no limit on number of members
Terms of Office Three years for governmental appointees
Meeting Date and Time Third Tuesday of each month - 8:00 a.m.
Chief Staff Person
Ava Troxler
Executive Director
Telephone Number
(336) 759-7500
Current Membership - Coalition for Drug Abuse Prevention
Name Race/Gender Term Expiration
City Appointments
Steven P. Barnett, MD WM 1 9/08
M. Delores Crosby-Edwards BF 2 8/08
Alvin E. Damon BM 2 8/08
Sophia G. Feaster BF 2 9/08
James Fulwood BM 2 8/08
County Appointments      
Alan F. Barber WM 1 8/05
Lewis (Pat) Beard WM 2 8/05
Antonio Cafolla WM 1 8/05
Barbara Frankel-Goldsmith WF 1 8/05
Larry W. Freeman WM 2 8/05
Tonya Y. Reynolds BF 1 8/05
Other Members      
Ann Adams Sally Hart Angela Parms
David Abernathy Melinda Hash Louis Pikula, Jr.
Tonya Atkins Teresa Hicks Natascha Romeo
Lydia Barber Linda Hopson John Shields
Calvin Bell Kim Hutchinson Christa Smith
Judy Chandler Chet Jessup Marilyn Springs
Linda Davis Doris Jones Neal Stockton
Nancy Dixon Mona Lovett Willard Tanner
Thom Elmore Bill McClain Elaine Teague
Deborah Fountain Marge McCormick Cecelia Westmoreland
Robert Greer Angela McReynolds Eugene Williams
Mildred Griffin Ron Morton Tanya Wilson
Valerie Harris Ronald Pannell Bert Wood

Special Notes:

1* = Serving more than 50% of an unexpired term (more than one year & seven months of the term has expired).

0* = Serving less than 50% of an unexpired term (less than one year & six months of the term has expired).

***= Indicates member is inactive


Notify me of page changes

Receive E-Mail Notification When New Information is Posted on this Page
As a member, enjoy the benefits of MyCityofWS, including your choice of newsletters, and notifications about events and site updates. Login and Manage Your Subscriptions Now.