Board information

Name of Board/Commission City-County Public Art Commission
Date: 12/20/2017
Authority for Creation The authority for establishing the City-County Public Art Commission is conferred by Chapter 160A, Article 20, Part 1, of the North Carolina General Statues.  The Commission was created by the adoption of the interlocal agreement by the City Council and the Forsyth County Board of Commissioners on December 21, 2015 and January 11, 2016, respectively.
Purpose/Function The purpose of the Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Public Art Commission is to facilitate the creation of public art in Winston-Salem, Forsyth County, and participating Towns and Villages.  The Commission is a working organization that employs the skills, talents, and networks of its members to create public art throughout Winston-Salem and Forsyth County.
Method of Appointment Between nine and eleven citizens shall be appointed by the Winston-Salem City Council and the Forsyth County Board of Commissioners. Six members must be City residents, are appointed by the Mayor and approved by City Council. Three to five members must be Forsyth County residents and their appointments are by the Board of County Commissioners. County appointments may reside in Winston-Salem, Forsyth County's towns, villages, or unincorporated Forsyth County. Towns and villages that have adopted the City-County Public Art Plan may nominate potential appointees to the Forysth County Board of Commissions.

Six to eight members must be arts professionals having experience or training related to the arts originating from employment or study within the following art disciplines: administration, architecture, criticism, education, curation, conservation, heritage, literature, music, new media, performing, public, visual, or a related field. Two members must be civic or business leaders who demonstrate a deep interest in and appreciation of cultural and artistic activities. One commission member must be experienced in grant writing who also has a deep interest in and appreciation of cultural and artistic activities.
Number of Members Ten
Terms of Office Upon creation of the Commission, three or four members will be assigned two year terms; thereafter, all appointees will serve four year terms.
Meeting Date and Time Bi-monthly. Regular meeting days and times will be established
Chief Staff Person
Kelly Bennett
Project Planner
Telephone Number
Current Membership - City-County Public Art Commission
Name Race/Gender Term Expiration
City Council Appointments
Endia Beal BF 1 12/19
David Finn, Chair WM 1 12/19
Harry Knabb WM 2 12/21
Betsy Towns WF 1 12/19
Elizabeth Repetti WF 2 12/21
Janie Wilson, Vice-Chair WF 1 12/19
Forsyth County Appointments      
Jane Doub WF 1 12/20
Barbara Campbell WF 1 12/20
Heather Levinson WF 1 12/18
John Rushton WM 1 12/20


Special Notes:

1* = Serving more than 50% of an unexpired term (more than one year & seven months of the term has expired).

0* = Serving less than 50% of an unexpired term (less than one year & six months of the term has expired).


Notify me about changes on this page

Receive E-Mail Notification When New Information is Posted on this Page
As a member, enjoy the benefits of MyCityofWS, including your choice of newsletters, and notifications about events and site updates. Login and Manage Your Subscriptions Now.