Utility Commission

2018 City/County Utility Commission

(Left to Right)
Front Row: Allan Younger, Harold E. Day, Yvonne H. Hines, L. Wesley Curtis, Jr.
Middle Row: Randall S. Tuttle, Tom Griffin, Donald R. Stewart, Chris Parker
Back Row: James Ruffin, Duane Long, Hugh W. Jernigan

Name Phone Term Expires Appointed By Email
Chair - Randall S. Tuttle 336-725-4411 6/2019 City
L. Wesley Curtis, Jr., Vice-Chair 336-725-1371 6/2019
Harold E. Day 336-722-9144 6/2022
Tom Griffin 336-659-2442 6/2021
Yvonne H. Hines 336-722-2624 6/2022
Hugh W. Jernigan 336-407-5221 6/2023 County
Duane Long 336-993-0635 6/2020
D. Christopher Parker 336-945-5410 6/2019
James M. Ruffin 336-345-0972 6/2020
Donald R. Stewart 336-978-2184 6/2021 County
Allan Younger   6/2023 City


  • Committee of the Whole: Second Monday of the month at noon in City Hall, Room 348.
  • Regular Meeting: Second Monday of the month at 2 p.m. in City Hall, Room 230.

*The October 14, 2019 meetings will be held at Manson Meads Complex, 2799 Griffith Road, Winston-Salem, NC 27103 starting at 11 a.m.

*Due to the Veteran's Day holiday on Monday, November 11, 2019, the November meetings will be held on Tuesday, November 12, 2019.

The Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Utility Commission oversees Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Utilities, which provides high quality water, wastewater and solid waste services to approximately 360,000 residential, business and industrial users in its service area through responsible use of resources, reliable delivery and stewardship of the environment. It operates one landfill for solid waste, another for construction and demolition debris, and two yard waste facilities. Three water treatment plants have a combined capacity of up to 91 million gallons a day, drawn from the Yadkin River and Salem Lake. In 2018, these plants treated and pumped a total of 13 billion gallons of water that met or surpassed all state and federal standards for drinking water quality. The water distribution system includes more than 2,300 miles of water distribution mains, 14 water tanks and seven pumping stations. The department also operates two wastewater treatment plants with a combined treatment capacity of up to 51 million gallons per day. The collection system includes nearly 1,800 miles of sewer lines, 49 lift stations and one chemical odor control station. The plants treated 12.6 billion gallons of wastewater in 2018. A workforce of nearly 380 employees operates and maintains WSFC Utilities, which is financed not via taxes, but through income from water and wastewater fees and landfill tipping fees.

The Utility Commission also finances its own capital improvements through fees and revenue bonds that are paid off with income from the water and sewer system. The Utility Commission does not have authority to issue bonds or debt without the approval of the City Council.

In addition to overseeing operations, the Utility Commission is also responsible for setting appropriate rates and extension policies. All operations are financed through a separate utility fund.

How Appointments are Made

The Utilities Commission is made up of ten (10) members and a Chair. Five (5) members are appointed by the City Council and five (5) by the Board of County Commissioners. The Chair is appointed jointly by the Mayor and Chairman of the Board of County Commissioners for a term of two (2) years, and may be appointed to not more than five (5) terms. All other members serve for a term of five (5) years. No member can be appointed to more than two (2) terms of five years each. No member of the Board of County Commissioners or the City Council may serve as the Chair or a member of the Utility Commission while actively serving as an elected official.

Notify me of page changes

Receive E-Mail Notification When New Information is Posted on this Page
As a member, enjoy the benefits of MyCityofWS, including your choice of newsletters, and notifications about events and site updates. Login and Manage Your Subscriptions Now.