Metropolitan Planning Organization Transportation Advisory Committee (TAC)

The Transportation Advisory Committee (TAC) is composed of elected officials from Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, and Stokes Counties; the City of Winston-Salem; and the other MPO municipalities; non-elected officials from the City-County Planning Board, Winston-Salem Transit Authority, Smith Reynolds Airport Authority, the Federal Highway Administration and the NCDOT. The TAC serves as a forum for cooperative transportation planning and decision-making for the MPO. The TAC has the responsibility for keeping the governing boards informed of the status and requirements of the transportation planning process; assisting in the dissemination and clarification of decisions, inclinations and policies of the governing boards; and ensuring meaningful citizen participation in the transportation planning process.

Please use the links below to view meeting agenda and meeting minutes:

For more information, you may contact:

TAC/TCC Secretary
Assistant Director
City/County Planning Board

Meeting Information

The Transportation Advisory Committee (TAC) and Technical Coordinating Committee (TCC) meet bimonthly on the third Thursday or on an as-needed basis. All TAC meetings are held in the Winston-Salem Public Meeting Room, 5th Floor, Bryce A. Stuart Municipal Building.

The Transportation Advisory Committee (TAC) meeting dates for 2019 are as follows:

  • Thursday, January 17
  • Thursday, February 21
  • Thursday, March 21
  • Thursday, May 16
  • Thursday, July 18
  • Thursday, September 19
  • Thursday, November 21

Citizen Comments at TAC Meetings

Citizens are invited to provide comments on items that are before or could come before the Transportation Advisory Committee (TAC). 

The comment period is held at the beginning of every TAC meeting.  Each citizen has up to 3 minutes to speak and the total comment period is limited to 30 minutes. 

Staff will have a sign-up sheet available immediately prior to any TAC meeting.  Citizens will speak in the order of sign-up.  

Parking is available: on the street (shared meter), in the surface lot north of City Hall (attendant), and in ground floor of the parking deck at 155 S. Church (shared meter). Please allow extra time to get to the meetings and to park during the B-40 closure project.

Please contact Margaret Bessette (336-747-7058; ) with questions.

TAC Membership


  • Larry T. Williams, TAC Chairman • Mayor, Town of Rural Hall
  • Dan Besse, TAC Vice-Chairman • Council Member, City of Winston-Salem
  • Denise D. AdamsCouncil Member, City of Winston-Salem
  • John E. Byrum • Mayor, Town of Midway
  • Mike Horn • Mayor, Town of Lewisville
  • Rick Morris • Commissioner, Stokes County
  • Allen Joines • Mayor, City of Winston-Salem
  • Wesley Hutchins • Mayor Pro Tem, Town of Walkertown
  • Fleming El-Amin • Commissioner, Forsyth County
  • Benita Finney • Commissioner, Davie County
  • Kenneth A. Rethmeier, DrPH • Mayor, Town of Bermuda Run
  • Brent Rockett • Commissioner, Town of Bethania
  • John Wait • Mayor, Village of Clemmons
  • Jenny FultonBoard Memeber, Town of Kernersville
  • Willie L. Clark, Jr.Board Member, Winston-Salem Transit Authority
  • Allen Todd • Mayor, Town of Wallburg
  • Zachary Crotts • Commissioner, Davidson County
  • Mark Baker •  Mayor, Village of Tobaccoville
  • Andrew Perkins • Member, North Carolina Board of Transportation

Alternate Members

  • Robert Clark • Council Member, City of Winston-Salem
  • Mike Combest • Mayor Pro Tem, Village of Clemmons
  • C. Thomas Griggs  Councilman, Town of Rural Hall
  • Chris Elliott • Commissioner, Davidson County
  • Jeff Macintosh • Council Member, City of Winston-Salem
  • Jackie Edwards • Council Member, Town of Midway
  • Jerry West • Council Member, Town of  Bermuda Run
  • Harold Smith • Council Member, Town of Lewisville
  • Robert Garcia • Chairman, Winston-Salem Transit Authority
  • Myron W. Marion • Council Member, Village of Tobaccoville

Non-Voting Members

  • Margaret Bessette, TAC Secretary • Assistant Director, City-County Planning Board
  • Chris Leak • Chairman, City-County Planning Board
  • Scott Piper • Chairman, Forsyth County Airport Commission
  • John F. Sullivan, III • Division Administrator, Federal Highway Administration

Print Roster

Notify me of page changes

Receive E-Mail Notification When New Information is Posted on this Page
As a member, enjoy the benefits of MyCityofWS, including your choice of newsletters, and notifications about events and site updates. Login and Manage Your Subscriptions Now.

Citizen Notification System

City Link 311