About Us

The Planning Division is a joint city-county agency serving Winston-Salem and unincorporated Forsyth County, as well as the municipalities of Bethania, Tobaccoville, Rural Hall and Walkertown. The Planning Division  functions as an administrative department of City and County government and also serves as staff for the City-County Planning Board.

The City-County Planning Board was established by a special act of the North Carolina General Assembly in 1948 to provide consolidated planning services to the City of Winston-Salem and Forsyth County. As such, it is the oldest consolidated city-county agency in North Carolina.

In short, Planning staff helps the Planning Board do what is required under State law. Staff provides the research, data, information, and professional recommendations regarding land use issues and other planning policy questions to the Planning Board and elected boards to help them make informed recommendations and decisions. Staff accomplishes this work in four multidisciplinary areas:  Comprehensive Planning and Design, Community Character, Land Use Administration, and GIS/Mapping. A sample of the work is provided below: 

Comprehensive Planning and Design

  • Legacy 2030 maintenance
  • Area plans
  • Urban design
  • Downtown planning
  • Neighborhood revitalization planning
  • Economic development
  • Activity Centers and Corridors
  • Healthy Communities
  • Legacy 2030 text amendments
  • Federal Environmental Review compliance
  • Public outreach

Community Character 

Land Use Administration


  • Geographic Information System (GIS) coordination, mapping and analysis
  • Coordination with US Census Bureau
  • Website

Revised 7/8/2016

Notify me of page changes

Receive E-Mail Notification When New Information is Posted on this Page
As a member, enjoy the benefits of MyCityofWS, including your choice of newsletters, and notifications about events and site updates. Login and Manage Your Subscriptions Now.